Author Interview. Bigga Day.

Anna W. Aden, aka Bigga Day, is curious about other people and always reads their about page. Although she primarily writes short stories, she is branching out into the world of novel writing. Her hobbies are reading, writing, and eating good food.  She’s really a great person, too!

apple-570965_1920

What is your writing Kryptonite?

The internet. I should turn it off because I get so distracted and end up not writing a single word. Normally I would be like mid-scene and think – ah let me check out a fact or a picture or something – then three hours later I’m still surfing the net or hanging out on social media talking about writing with other writers.

Ugh, that’s mine, too!

mobile-phone-1875813_1920

Have you ever gotten reader’s block?

What a fascinating question! I have but not absolute reader’s block. At some point in my late teens, I stopped reading prose for some reason and turned to graphic novels. I guess I just got reader’s fatigue if there is such a thing. So I had about a two-year break and just read comics. All sorts of comics and graphic novels- manga, horror, comedy, romance, superheroes etc. Then in my early twenties, I started reading prose again.

still-life-1037378_1920

How long have you been writing?

If you mean seriously with the intention of seeing my work in print or ebook probably about four years. Before that writing was just something I did for pleasure. I would finish a draft and then start on another story – enjoying the creative process.

rose-693152_1920

What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Plotting. I’m not a natural plotter nor am I a pantser writing ‘by the seat of my pants’. I’m nowhere that fast. I tend to be an organic writer taking the scenic route, and if I hit a dead end which happens at times, I just turn back and take another route until I get to an ending. This was okay when I was writing for fun but now I’m serious, I need to get a handle on plotting.

animals-985500_1920

Have you ever destroyed any of your drafts?

Yes, handwritten rough drafts. There is no point in having them around once I’ve typed them into the computer, so they tend to go into the recycling bin. I also do a tidy up of my computer and delete obsolete drafts.

I honestly don’t know how you do that!  I have a million copies of everything!  You’re so organized!

 

Leave a Reply

