Hades-Queens of the underworld

The place no one wants to visit.

When an anvil falls from earth nine days later it will slam into the deepest parts of Hades. Filled with the stench of mold and dead bodies, this realm is dark and filled with the voices of the doomed and bodiless ghosts flitted across the grey fields.

Pay the ferryman Charon or forfeit your chance at having an afterlife. He carries the souls of those who had received the rites of burial, across the river Styx.

Hades is surrounded by five rivers, each one representing an emotion connected with the underworld: the Styx (hatred), Acheron (pain), Lethe (forgetfulness), Phlegethon (fire), and Cocytus (wailing). Charon received the souls from Death (Or Hermes in mythology) and then guide them to the other side of the Styx River. The dead were buried with a coin under their tongue in order to pay Charon for their ride. Those who could not pay, or who had not received a proper burial, were turned back. The ghosts of the unburied were returned to the realm above to haunt the living in the form of dreams and to demand a proper burial.

The underworld’s entrance is not a very welcoming place, with Anxiety, Grief, Diseases, Old Age, Hunger, Fear, Agony, Death, and Sleep awaiting you. The entrance is guarded by Cerberus, a vicious three-headed dog whose duty is to keep the souls from leaving Hades.

Once Charon ferries the souls to the other side, the newly dead are then at the mercy of three judges: Minos, Rhadamanthus, and Aeacus. They decide the fate of the souls and send them to one of three places. If chosen for Elysium, the souls first drink from the river Lethe, to forget everything of their former life and commence a pleasant afterlife. Within the realm of Elysium, one can also find the Isles of the Blessed. When a soul has reached Elysium three times in a row, they are then granted access to the Isles of the Blessed for an eternity of unending bliss.

The second location, the Fields of Punishment, is designated for those who commit crimes against the gods. Hades decides on their individual punishment himself.

The Fields of Asphodel, thirdly, are for the souls who have not achieved greatness nor committed crimes against the gods.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s