Author Interview Time! Deborah Byington

It’s that time!  Today’s author interview is with Deborah Byington.  She’s written a great mystery-police thriller.  Pick up your copy today!  A Killer Among Us.

Deborah is a former member of RWA and was the founder of the Heart of the Sound RWA Chapter in CT as well as president of their Outreach chapter, a mentorship for new authors. She previously published AloneTogether in the early 90’s as well as 2 novellas. She lives now lives Johnstown PA

Today, I’m interviewing a fellow Pennsylvania lady.  We have to stick together.  I met her about two years ago on Facebook and we’ve become fast friends.  Love her work.

If you could tell your younger writing self- anything, what would it be?

Never give up the dream. Had I heeded this advice I might be successful now

051317 flash

What authors did you dislike at first but grew into?

Lisa Scottoline I read one of her early books and couldn’t finish it but I’ve since become a fan.

What’s your favorite under-appreciated novel?

That’s a hard one I’m not sure I can answer that. There are many I’ve read that I thought would make good movies compared to some that have been and were not worth it.

What kind of research do you do, and how long do you spend researching before beginning a book?

For a Killer Among Us, I called 6 different police departments all over the country and got so many different answers to the same questions. My previous book spent time interviewing Navy personnel. then, of course, basic research for rules, regulations, codes,

I read a lot of true crime and newspaper accounts and personal experiences with various relationships or by observing people. I’ve been all over the country so I have a wide variety of personalities to choose from.

A Killer Among Us by [Byington, Deborah]  A Killer Among Us

Why a mystery cop romance?

I prefer romantic suspense over straight romance. I”ve written straight romance and read so many they all seem the same lately. I chose a cop, because there are too many private detectives and heroines going off on their own to solve a crime that seems unrealistic

Follow Deborah on Facebook

 

 

Leave a Reply

