Author Interview- Bigga Day

This month, my interview is with Anna W Aden who goes by Bigga Day.  Anna lives in the UK. She also blogs and writes under the pseudonym Biggaletta “Bigga” Day. She is a self-confessed cake-aholic who loves a bargain in the sales, discovering London’s open green spaces, the occasional music concert, and libraries.

And once in awhile, she catches up on reality and youtube shows.

Check out her blog https://applesandpeanuts.wordpress.com

We met on Scribophile.com, if you haven’t checked out Scrib, it is a wonderful site full of great authors.  One of them is Bigga.  Her personality is as large as her name, helpful, knowledgeable and an all around great person.  Check out her blog for some great stuff.

This month’s questions revolve around writing, reviews, and the never-ending marketing problems of new authors. So, raise your cup of coffee, or tea if you’re Bigga, and sit back and get cozy.

What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?

I think they are subjective. As for reviews on my work, after reading them – good or bad – life goes on and it is on to the next thing. You can’t lie on your laurels or be defeated by critics

As a reader, I hardly read reviews until I joined social media. However now I tend to read reviews after I’ve read a book, rarely before. And mainly because I wanted to find out if others thought the same as I did.

So more in a book club sense rather than to select books. I say ‘in a book club sense’ because on social media you can end up engage with like-minded readers and have conversations about books. Like you may not agree with everyone’s reviews but it’s social and fun to find out what others thought about a book. This engagement is strictly as a reader.

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I’m naturally a daydreamer so I do have high lofty dreams but they are realistic as escaping into my favourite romance novel with a deliciously sexy alpha hero.

On a more realistic level, it is to finish the book I’m working on, and keep on writing.

Any tips on what to do and what not to do when writing?

Write, keep writing and when you’re done writing, start again. I used to follow a lot of tips but I realised the more I wrote the better I got.

How much of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book?

In the beginning, a lot of time, until I realized I wasn’t even near completing my first draft and was probably thinking too far ahead, so I had to pull back and focus on completing my draft.

However, I’m always on the lookout for marketing advice and in March I’m super excited to be going to the London Book Fair.

Where do  your ideas come from?

Ah, good question and one I’ve thought about. I get inspiration and good ideas from everywhere but rarely use them. I’ve got stacks of clippings from newspapers and magazines articles, and plenty of notebooks full of titbits from the news, even music videos, and songs.

In reality, the most of ideas I use tend to come from just free writing and answering the question ‘what happened next?’. Basically, I make it up as I got along, a writer of make-belief. As I write, I push the narrative along.

 

 

Leave a Reply

