Author Interview – Demi Hungerford

This month’s interview is with a romance writer I met in on Scribophile.com  a couple of years ago, Demi Hungerford. She is one busy person. A mentor to a lot of us, Demi is a canister of knowledge that is just ready to be opened up and offer her help.  You can find her online, hosting writing circles and offering her expertise in a kind and considerate manner.  And her writing?  Fabulous. Check her out.

 

Biography for Demi Hungerford

Born and raised in Southern California, DL Hungerford began writing right about the time you would expect. She has worked as a child care provider, a cook, a caterer, a clerk, customer service operator, blackjack dealer, house cleaner, bird breeder, a case worker for local government, and a supervisor of case workers. She honed her writing skills through fanzines, epic letters, and minutes for various clubs. She also wrote newsletter submissions for clubs, as well as movie and book reviews.

DL loves the world of fiction, especially Regency England, but hopes to explore other horizons as time permits. She still lives in Southern California with her husband, a spoiled cat, a spoiled dog, and a flock of parrots and other birds.

 Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special? I will single out Maryse from Pure Captivation. She’s a French princess escaping with what’s left of her family out of France, but going about it rather the long way. She is violated by a British soldier, yet manages to be strong enough to trust the next soldier she meets. She also has been awakened sexually, but has very negative associations with that. The MMC guides her through the emotional wasteland and eventually they find their own paradise. 

How long on average does it take you to write a book?I thought I needed a year to write a book. Before, I took that long or longer. But then I realized I wasn’t dedicating enough of my day to writing. I have taken steps to arrange my days to allow more writing time and I stick to my time. At the moment, NaNoWriMo is showing me I can write a book, a rough draft, in a month. Yay!

 Do you ever get Writer’s Block, and do you have any tips for getting through it? I don’t get writer’s block. As long as I am sitting down and writing, the words usually flow. I write several blogs and while writing those, often get more ideas on the current Work In Progress. The best thing to do if you hit that block wall is get up and do something else. Walking is great. Put on some music and dance. Maybe your muse wants to garden. See what local festivals and events are going on and make plans to participate. You need to take care of yourself so that your writing can flow through a fresh channel, not a rusty pipe.

For your own reading, do you prefer ebooks or traditional paper/hard back books? I do prefer ebooks. I can carry so  many books on my phone, I can read anywhere, and I can fall asleep while reading without smacking myself in the face with the book. I tend to set the phone down as I get drowsy, saying I will pick it up after I rest my eyes.  But no matter what my preference is, I have tendonitis and poor vision. Paperbacks are no longer an option. Unless they are very thin and have large print.

 Where is your favorite place to write? Hawaii. At least, I think it will be if I ever get a chance to go there. Currently, I still have a desktop computer that sits, coincidentally, on my desktop. I have my parrots around me, my dog at my feet, and snacks not too close but within reach. I am about to devise a way to raise my keyboard so that I can stand and type when sitting gets uncomfortable.

She also writes under the pen name of Roxanna Haley. You can contact her through any of the various links below:

http://windr0se.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/HungerfordsHistoricals/

https://www.facebook.com/RoxannaHaleyAuthor/?fref=ts

http://www.amazon.com/Roxanna-Haley/e/B00XZC10BS/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

https://www.amazon.com/Entr%C3%A9e-Pure-Captivation-Regency-Banquet-ebook/dp/B01L6DJYEC/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1472734392&sr=8-2&keywords=Roxanna+Haley

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/661631

Leave a Reply

