Author Interview, Sherry Terry.

This month, my interview is with a very talented lady, Sherry Terry. A wonderful writer who pulls you into her world and lets you experience life through her fascinating stories.

100_9637

A little bit about Sherry. She lives on Red Bull and sarcasm in a small town in Texas with her hermaphroditic cat named, Hermy. As a single mother, she put herself through college and worked as a Radiologic Technologist for almost twenty years before she gave it all up to be a bum. In her Champagne wishes and caviar dreams, she spends all of her time writing the next greatest romance novel to hit the market. Her blog is dedicated to helping aspiring writers with how-to articles and awesome research links.

Please feel free to friend her on Facebook

Follow her on Twitter

Take a look at the inspiration for her stories on Pinterest

And visit her blog, verysherryterry

Her site is wonderful. Lots of great information for writers. You have to check out her great crits!  Now, on to the questions!

Why did you choose to write romance?

I love to read it. The journey of two people falling in love relaxes me and pulls me out of my mundane life into a world of dreams and possibilities. It’s fun to write, not to mention it is the number one selling genre around the world. It pays good.

Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just see where an idea takes you?

For the most part, I’m a panster. I have a general idea for a story, a general sense of the characters, and some things I want to happen along the way. I open a blank document and start typing. However, with my epic novel, To Be a Wife I needed an outline to keep up with the sub-plots. I always do character profile sheets on the main characters and other characters who are in the whole story.

Do you prefer to write series or stand-alone novels?

I have several first draft, stand-alone novels. If I could just sit down and do the edits, I could start sending them out to publishers or publishing them myself. I also have an epic historical romance/erotica in the final editing stages. The novella I’m doing the final edits on, The Cabin will be a series. So, the answer to the questions is both.

What’s your views on social media for marketing, and which of them have worked best for you?

In terms of generating traffic to my website, I’ve found more comes from Facebook than Twitter. I find that when I interact a lot every day, sending random stuff, jokes, funny cat pictures mixed in with an ad here and there, I get more followers and more traffic on my site. No one has the perfect plan, but staying active on your social media is important. I interact with others by liking, sharing, and re-twitting things that catch my interest.

Which famous person, living or dead would you like to meet and why?

Matthew McConaughey. Because, well, duh. It’s Matthew McConaughey. Honestly, I don’t know him except what I see on television about him, but he comes across as a nice guy who would keep you alive, build a shelter, and hunt if you were stranded with him on a deserted island. And if it’s just the two of us, eventually he will find me attractive. I just have to wait it out.

Leave a Reply

